HomeTutorialMemory Full Message on ChatGPT: How to Free Up Storage to Fix...

Memory Full Message on ChatGPT: How to Free Up Storage to Fix it

Published on

The “Memory Full” message is an uncommon issue on ChatGPT, but many users face it often. This message is not related to your chat history, so clearing the chat history won’t resolve the issue. This guide explains what is “Memory Full” message in ChatGPT and how to fix this problem.

ChatGPT

FYI, ChatGPT stores data you’ve chosen to share, such as your name, writing style, and objectives, allowing it to customize its responses. When the AI reaches its limit for storing your personalization data, you will receive a “Memory Full” message.

Deleting outdated or unnecessary memories is the solution to fix this issue, and it will enable you to save new preferences. It will also ensure that ChatGPT remains tailored to your needs.

ALSO READ: What is ChatGPT’s Background Conversation for Smartphone And How to Enable it

OpenAI has not revealed the specific storage capacity for both free and paid users, but it is limited. Free users have a smaller storage allowance compared to paid subscribers. If you encounter a “Memory Full” message, you’ll need to remove older entries or clear all memory to make space for new ones.

In this guide, let us learn how to clear ChatGPT memory both on Android and Windows app.

How to Fix the ‘Memory Full’ Message on ChatGPT

On Your Android Device:

  • Open the ChatGPT app.
  • Tap on your profile name.
  • Select the Personalization option.
  • Choose Memory and then tap on Manage Memories.
  • On the Manage Memories page, tap “Delete All” to clear and reset the memory.
Fix ChatGPT Memory Full Issue

On Your Computer:

  • Launch ChatGPT and click on your profile.
  • Select the Settings option.
  • Click on Data Controls and then choose Personalization.
  • Click the Manage button for the Manage Memories setting.
  • For each memory you wish to erase, click the Delete (trashcan) button.
  • To clear and reset all memories, click the Delete All button.

After completing the above steps, the chatbot will have more space to store your personalized information.

In addition to managing memory, you can adjust various settings in ChatGPT to enhance your experience and privacy. You prevent OpenAI from using your data for AI training purposes, and manage and delete shared links to ensure your chats do not appear in search engines or fall into the wrong hands.

Explore More:

JP
JPhttps://infointech.com
JP (Jayaprakash), how-to expert and web geek with twenty+ years of experience, shares his knowledge through blogging filled with practical tips and guidance to help you enhance your tech skills.

Latest articles

Embed YouTube Videos in Excel Spreadsheets: A Step-by-Step Guide

By adding videos in your Excel spreadsheet you can explain what your spreadsheet data...

How to Create Professional Name Stickers in Microsoft Word

Microsoft Word is an excellent tool for designing and printing custom name stickers at...

Learn How to Use VLOOKUP in Google Sheets: A Practical Guide for Beginners

VLOOKUP or vertical lookup in Google Sheets ia s search and retrieve function for...

Can Google Sheets Be Password Protected? A Complete Guide

Can Google Sheets be password protected? The short answer is Yes, but not in...